The Sesnon Endowed Chair in Animal Science


UC Davis encouraged establishment of “endowed chairs” as a means of honoring prestigious faculty and providing them with additional support. In 1977, the first chair at the University of California, Davis — the Sesnon Endowed Chair in Animal Science — was created through generous gifts from Porter Sesnon, Barbara Sesnon Cartan, William T. Sesnon Jr. and the Cal Aggie Foundation.


The Sesnon Chair supports a distinguished animal scientist who provides intellectual leadership in undergraduate and graduate teaching and research for the Department of Animal Science, the College and the campus. The chair holder is expected to have made distinguished research contributions in the field of animal science relevant to the biology and production of livestock or aquaculture species.

Current Chair Holder:

Ermias Kebreab Photo

Ermias Kebreab, PhD
Professor of Sustainable Agriculture
Sesnon Endowed Chair
Department of Animal Science
University of California, Davis
2111 Meyer Hall,
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616
Tel: (530)752 5907
Fax: (530)752 0175
 Web: Leave Site

Previous Chair Holders:


Further information: Leave Site